The winners of the 2020 Sustainable Communities - Tidy Towns awards will be announced on Saturday evening during a live-stream on the KVB YouTube channel, instead of the usual gala presentation dinner.

Due to the Coronavirus restrictions, the 2020 Sustainable Communities - Tidy Towns awards have been a bit different.

In past years a team of judges visited each community to view first hand the nominated projects, but this year they fulfilled this task through online meetings with local representatives.

Following the announcement of the finalists in June, a series of online presentations provided the opportunity for the local representatives to describe each project publicly.

Dimboola hosted the gala function last year after earning the title of Victoria’s Tidiest Town in 2018. Beechworth, as the reigning Tidiest Town, was to be the venue this year, but due to the current situation it is not practical for people to travel from around the state to attend such an event.

A well-known comedian will host the announcement of the winners on YouTube on Saturday evening from 7.30 pm. ABC gardening personality Costa Georgiadis. compered The 2019 ceremony.

The local finalists include a wide cross section of projects from the local community.
Heritage and Culture - War Memorial Commemorative Sign - Dimboola RSL
Education - Fred Lord Memorial Garden - Dimboola Memorial Secondary College
Waste - Recycle for sustainability - Dimboola Lions Club
Community - Travis Price Mural - Hindmarsh Shire Youth Council
Environment - Controlling weeds and feral animals - Snape Reserve
Heritage and Culture - Restoring fencing along the street - Dimboola Victorian Railway Institute
Community - Pontoon for safety - Dimboola Rowing Club
Social Well-Being - Peter Taylor Memorial Barefoot Night Jump Event - Dimboola Boat and Water Ski Club
More details about each of these local finalists can be found here.