The West Wimmera Warriors cricket club celebrated a successful 2020/21 season with a function on Sunday afternoon.

Three teams from the club qualified for grand finals this year, and although only one premiership was won, it was a good sign for the club’s future.

With last season curtailed by COVID-19 restrictions and the start of this season also affected, several players from Kaniva joined the Warriors to strengthen the club’s player numbers.

The A grade Warriors met the dominant Noradjuah-Toolondo team in their grand final, and the C grade enjoyed success against Qunatong. The Under 16.5 team played Homers in their season decider, and the club also fielded an Under 14 team and hosted a successful Cricket Blast program for younger players.

The A grade trophies were dominated by Nathan Alexander, who earlier in the month was named the Horsham Cricket Association’s Cec Hopper Medalist as the competitions best player for the season. This award is based on points earned for runs scored, wickets, run-outs, and catches taken during the home and away season.

Alexander shared the batting aggregate award at the club level with Mitch Dalhenburg after they both scored 441 runs during the regular season, with finals not included in these tallies.

With the ball, Alexander took the most wickets with 24, and he also earned the Club Champion trophy with 911 points.

Above - 2020/21 leading players, Mitch Dahlenburg, Nathan Alexander, Bailey Zimmerman, and Dylan Webb.

In the C grade awards, Bailey Zimmerman won the bowling with 10 wickets, and Dylan Webb topped the batting with 267 runs, which also earned him the Association’s C grade aggregate trophy.

Kyle Kuchel won the batting aggregate at the Association level in the Under 16.5 competition with 198 runs.

2020/21 West Wimmera Warriors’ Award Winners

A Grade - One_day Grand Finalist
Batting Aggregate - Nathan Alexander and Mitch Dahlenburg - 441 runs
Bowling Aggregate - Nathan Alexander - 24 wickets

C Grade - One-Day Premiers
Batting Aggregate - Dylan Webb - 267 runs
Bowling Aggregate - Bailey Zimmerman - 10 wickets

2020/21 Club Champion - Nathan Alexander - 911 points

As restrictions this time last year prevented such a function from being held following the 2019/20 season, the trophies for that season were also presented.

The club’s B grade team had gone through the season undefeated, finishing on top of the T20, One-Day, and overall ladders. They went on to win both the T20 and One-Day grand finals, but the Two-Day finals were not played due to restrictions.

Mitch Dahlenburg had a good season with the bat, finishing with a total of 1,032 runs from all competitions games played, including finals. In accumulating this total, he scored four centuries with a top score of 172, plus another two scores in the nineties and one in the eighties.

The C grade team won the T20 grand final and finished second on the One-Day ladder, but finals were also not played.

2019/20 West Wimmera Warriors’ Award Winners

B Grade - T20 and One-Day Champions
Batting Aggregate - Mitch Dahlenburg - 986 runs
Bowling Aggregate - Josh Lees and Liam Preston - 21 wickets

C Grade - T20 Champions
Batting Aggregate - Darcy Bullen - 260 runs
Bowling Aggregate - Shane Gusman - 15 wickets

2019/20 Club Champion - Mitch Dahlenburg - 1,196 points