Dimboola Courier

Free local news daily.

Sunday 12th July 2020

Home Current News Sport Interest History Ag & Environment Public Notices Mayoral Columns Letters Local Businesses Weekly Quiz Contact Us Search

Thank you to our local business sponsors.
Click here to see our local advertiser directory.


Dimboola District Tennis | Antwerp claims vital win

 Tuesday 26th November 2019
 Dimboola and District Tennis Association

Dimboola District Tennis | Antwerp claims vital win
Antwerp has taken outright second position on Dimboola & District Tennis Association’s premiership table after claiming a big win over Hopetoun on Saturday.

Entering the round on equal points, Antwerp claimed a clean sweep of points to skip clear in second place and remain in touch with ladder leader Warrack Gold.

Warrack claimed maximum points when they received a forfeit from Dimboola, while Rainbow climbed into the top four when they defeated Brim and Arkona kept their foot in the door for a top four berth when they defeated Jeparit.

Playing four men and six ladies, Antwerp made a winning start in the mixed doubles section when ladies Emily Polack and Samantha Baker won the final set 9-1 to ensure the opening point.

Prior to the final set, only two games separated the teams on equal sets before Antwerp claimed the point three sets, 39 games to two sets, 29 games.

Antwerp then controlled both the Ladies and Men’s sections claiming five Ladies sets to one, while the men won three of the four sets contested to claim the Men’s point 32 games to 20.

On the courts at Rainbow, the home side climbed into fifth place on the ladder when they dominated their clash against Brim.

Rainbow dropped just three sets for the day with the teams playing six ladies and five men.

The mixed doubles started with a singles rubber where Penny Fisher proved too strong for Casey Quick, 9-4 before Rainbow claimed four of the remaining five sets to claim the opening point five sets, 49 games to one set, 25 games.

The Ladies section saw a clean sweep of sets to Rainbow to win the section 54 games to 18, while the Men’s section was a much tighter affair with Rainbow winning three sets to two.

The section came down to the final set after both teams won two sets, however Rainbow led 28 games to 19 before Grant O’Callaghan and Aidan Gelligen claimed a 9-5 win in the final set to ensure a win by 37 games to 24.

At Jeparit, visitors Arkona climbed into the top four when they claimed four match points for the day.

Playing four men and four ladies, Arkona claimed the mixed doubles point when they won the opening three sets before Jeparit won the final set 9-3 to close the gap to three sets, 30 games to one set, 27 games.

It was a similar scenario in the Men’s section when the Hunter boys, Jonty, Evan, and Luke joined John O’Dwyer to win the first three sets to ensure the Men’s point.

Jeparit substitute Tonnis Wolthuis and Mel Butler claimed the final set 9-4 to see Arkona claim the section three sets 40 games to one set, 25 games.

The Ladies’ section produced the closest play of the day when Jeparit claimed their point with a win in the final set.

Arkona led the section two sets, 22 games to one set, 19 games before Lou Cross and Erin Preston teamed up to claim the final set 9-2 to turn the tables and claim the section two sets, 28 games to two set, 24 games.

Ladder after Round 7

Warrack Gold   29.5
Antwerp 27
Hopetoun 22
Rainbow 17.5

Round Seven Results

Antwerp 5 match points, 11 sets, 122 games d Hopetoun 0 match points, 4 sets, 69 games.

Mixed: Tim Jorgensen, Abbey Greig d Jacob Holm, Remy George 9-8, Nathan & Heather Jorgensen lost to Mal McLean, Courtney Jones 7-9, Don Clark, Sonia Avery d Alex & N. Kovoor 9-2, Aaron Werner, Jenny Haebich lost to Declan Brown, A. White 5-9, Emily Polack, Samantha Baker d Brodie Hallam, Tahlia Durie 9-1.

Ladies: A. Greig, E. Polack d R. George, B. Hallam 9-0, S. Baker, S. Avery d T. Durie, N. Kovoor 9-4, A. Greig, H. Jorgensen d R. George, C. Jones 9-2, S. Baker, J. Haebich d T. Durie, A. White 9-3, H. Jorgensen, E. Polack d C. Jones, B. Hallam 9-2, S. Avery, J. Haebich lost to N. Kovoor, A. White 6-9.

Men: T. Jorgensen, D. Clark lost to J. Holm, A. Kovoor 5-9, N. Jorgensen, A. Werner d M. McLean, D. Brown 9-1, T. & N. Jorgensen d J. Holm, M. McLean 9-6, D. Clark, A. Werner d A. Kovoor, D. Brown 9-4.

Rainbow 5 match points, 14 sets, 140 games d Brim 0 match points, 3 sets, 67 games.

Mixed: Singles: Penny Fisher d Casey Quick 9-4, Tracey Tregenza, Simon Clugston d Simone Lindsay, Cameron Blinman 9-2, Lauren Hallam, Grant O’Callaghan d Erin Slater, Steve Murphy 9-0, Sharyn Gelligen, Seamus O’Halloran d Merrily & Josiah Keam 9-4, Colleen Petschel, Aidan Gelligen lost to Molly Stewart, Lachie Golder 4-9 Macy & Joad Fuller d Elyssia Preston, Patrick Lindsay 9-6.

Ladies: P. Fisher, L. Hallam d C. Quick, M. Stewart 9-5, S. Gelligen, C. Petschel d E. Slater, M. Keam 9-2, P. Fisher, T. Tregenza d C. Quick, S. Lindsay 9-0, S. Gelligen, M. Fuller d E. Slater, E. Preston 9-1, T. Tregenza, L. Hallam d S. Lindsay, M. Stewart 9-5, C. Petschel, M. Fuller d M. Keam, E. Preston 9-5.
Men: S. Clugston, S. O’Halloran d C. Blinman, J. Keam 9-1, A. Gelligen, J. Fuller lost to L. Golder, P. Lindsay 4-9, S. Clugston, G. O’Gallaghan d C. Blinman, S. Murphy 9-0, S. O’Halloran, J. Fuller lost to J. Keam, P. Lindsay 6-9, G. O’Callaghan, A. Gelligen d S. Murphy, L. Golder 9-5.

Arkona 4 match points, 8 sets, 94 games d Jeparit 1 match point, 4 sets, 80 games.

Mixed: Gavin Nikkelson, Ebony Spokes lost to John O’Dwyer, Meaghan Pohlner 4-9, Jake Smith, Elly Schumann lost to Jonty Hunter, Tracey Jorgensen 7-9, Mel Bulter, Lou Cross lost to Evan Hunter, Megan Hutchinson 7-9, Tonnis Wolthuis (sub), Erin Preston d Luke Hunter, Joanne Wolthuis 9-3.
Ladies: E. Spokes, L. Cross lost to M. Pohlner, M. Hutchinson 4-9, E. Schumann, E. Preston d T. Jorgensen, J. Wolthuis 9-4, E. Spokes, E. Schumann lost to M. Pohlner, T. Jorgensen 6-9, L. Cross, E. Preston d M. Hutchinson, J. Wolthuis 9-2.

Men: G. Nikkelson, M. Butler lost to J. O’Dwyer, E. Hunter 5-9, J. Smith, T. Wolthuis lost to J. & L. Hunter 7-9, G. Nikkelson, J. Smith lost to J. O’Dwyer, J. Hunter 4-9, M. Butler, T. Wolthuis d E. & L. Hunter 9-4.

Warrack Gold defeated Dimboola on forfeit.

Dimboola Courier Noticeboard

Bendigo Bank





Dimboola Courier

Facebook    Twitter    Instagram   

Dimboola Courier

Copyright © 2020 Dimboola Courier and Wangara Consulting
All Rights Reserved

Managed by Wangara Consulting - www.wancon.com.au

Privacy and Social Media Policy

Wangara Consulting