The 2020 Sustainable Communities Tidy Towns Awards were announced on Saturday night in a first for Keep Victoria Beautiful: a YouTube livestream. Ten Dimboola projects across eight categories were honoured to be shortlisted but unfortunately none took home the top prize.

Three entries from Horsham won their categories, including Zack Currie who jointly won the Young Legend award with Harrison Hansen from Mornington, with the judges giving them both a perfect score.

Goolum Goolum Aboriginal Co-operative received the Indigenous Culture award for their ‘Goolum Goolum NAIDOC Art Exhibition 2019’, and Horsham Horsham Rural City Council won the Energy category for their ‘Energising Communities’ program.

Both Dimboola and Horsham were in the running for the main prize of Victoria’s Tidiest Town but lost out to Hastings who will hold this title for the next year. If things get back to anything like normal next year, Hastings will host the gala presentation evening, like the one Dimboola put on last year.

Despite not receiving any awards this year, a broad cross-section of Dimboola projects received publicity and recognition through several KVB online presentations and other media outlets throughout the year.

Due to travel and other restrictions, for the first time, the announcement of the winners came during an online YouTube broadcast instead of a large gala event hosted by the reigning Tidiest Town, that would have been in Beechworth this year.

The half-hour presentation hosted by Charlie Ranger, a professional MC and actor, included an introduction by Victorian Governor, Linda Dessau, in her capacity as KVB Patron.

Lily D’Ambrosio, Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change and Minister for Solar Homes, announced the Tidiest Town.

All the winners can be found on the Keep Victoria Beautiful Facebook page.