The Nhill & District Sporting Club will welcome Dale Thomas for a round of football later this year through ‘The Carlton Draft’.

Nhill is one of eight Victorian country clubs who made it through to the final stage of the competition which will see AFL legends play a round with a regional club in the name of giving back to small communities and to promote football.

More than 500 clubs were nominated, with the clubs selected by Carlton Draught and the AFL on hardship grounds and in line with the campaign’s aim to support grassroots footy where it was most needed.

2022 ‘Carlton Draft’ Commissioner Jonathan Brown led the event which was aired on Fox Sports and Kayo on Wednesday evening.

The clubs and their picks, in draft order, are below:
  • Portalington Demons - Nathan Jones
  • Branxholme Wallacedale Saints - Eddie Betts
  • Longwood Redlegs - Cameron Mooney
  • Dalyston Magpies - Shaun Burgoyne
  • Gormandale Tigers - Jarryd Roughead
  • Campbells Creek Magpies - Alex Rance
  • North Wangaratta Hawks - Brendon Goddard
  • Nhill Tigers - Dale Thomas